DECRIMINALIZATION OF MARIJUANA - SMOKING IT IS STILL ILLEGAL
Effective July 1, 2011, the State of Connecticut decriminalized the possession of 1/2 ounce of marijuana or less, however this law does not mean marijuana use is legal.
What does ‘decriminalized’ mean?
Decriminalization means the penalties for marijuana possession in the state of Connecticut have changed from jail time to fines.
- First Offense: $150 Infraction
- Second Offense: $200-$500 Infraction
- Third + Offense: Drug Education Program paid for by Offender
Despite the recent decriminalization of marijuana, it is still a risky decision to carry the drug in any amount. If you’re under age 21 Your driver’s license will be suspended for 60 days, regardless of it’s a first, second or third offense. If you’re under age 18 in addition to a 60-day license
suspension, you will be found guilty of an infraction regardless of the amount of marijuana in your possession, and still must go through the juvenile justice system. Parents and/or guardians will be involved. You have more to lose than just money!